Do we need a power calculation change?

I am no expert on the subject, but it seems well known that hp/prot is weighed more heavily towards a characters power than other stats. While this has been mentioned before, I haven't seen many ask for a change.

This impacts us in several ways, although the level of impact varies:
1. In GW, by the teams you are matched against.
2. Arena, when viewing another teams power.
3. The perception of ones own roster due to the way they sort.

If they could change this system, I think the result would be great for everyone. Hp/prot could still weigh heavily towards power for tanks & healers. For attackers though they could make other stats like speed, crit chance/damage, & offense more valuable.

I know not all tanks are the exact same (you may stack speed on han but wouldnt on chewie for example), but just making attackers as a group weigh stats differently would be a positive change imo. Although, it would be great if they could set them individually for each character.

Replies

• Kyno
    32087 posts Moderator
    The biggest problem with power calculations is that skills, especially zetas, have little to no effect on it.

That minor change will should help with GW.

The other 2 points you make are just visual, and with the addition of the favorites tab, you can get around #3.

Just like ship arena you can't judge a team by the power, because it doesn't account for synergy (or abilities as I mentioned). That's always going to be "tribal" knowledge that helps you make those decisions.
  • Maybe if they didnt change much just let ability levels impact the power of characters?
    I think damage changes power a bit too
  • AnonymousMeh
    357 posts Member
    edited March 2017
    That would be great if they could take zetas into account. And I agree the 2nd point isn't as big of a deal because they can't take team synergy into account.