They need to make some fundamental changes to TB, it's not going to drive the game for the next year

sneeekypants
1914 posts Member
edited September 2017
I'm an officer in a large merged guild association and was primarily responsible for the TB organization. We ended up with 41* and have maybe 12 whales, 8-10 F2P and the rest sprinkled in between those. I personally was a vault+subscription/month player but don't see that continuing going forward unless something playable is released like a new raid or battles in TB.

After the second TB, it's a bit underwhelming. Requires way too much manual overhead, not fun/challenging, and rewards are not scaled well. Rewards seem to be pretty flat, more like a participation prize based almost solely on how many toons/gear you have farmed or bought. I get the motivation behind it, but it's a poor way to get people to try to spend. I spent to gear/star for Rancor. Same for HAAT and Arena, spent for CHS and some of the new gear to get toons to G12. There's no incentive or desire to spend when it's marginal increases for a collective effort. You got people to restructure guilds, banding people of similar GP but also took out a huge chunk of the paying player's motivation to spend with the flat rewards.

If this is the new content which is supposed to entertain people for the next 10 months, in different flavors but the same format, players are going to stop spending and exit. I hope that doesn't happen. I loved the HAAT for 6 months. It was fun and challenging, but new content was way overdue. A lot of work went into TB but also lot of the design was misguided. Start with something fun and work in the motivations to spend, not try to make a system to get people to buy stuff they've never been inclined to buy then try to figure out how to mask it as "fun".

Some ideas (instead of just criticisms) that would help TB be more viable as the main future content.