You are doing it wrong!

Caiaphas
187 posts Member

Granted, I am not a lifecycle developer at a gaming studio.

BUT

This game is mature. It is at the stage where revenues are (probably) no longer increasing. What I do know is that reducing churn/increasing retention of NEW players is important to continue increasing revenues as a game reaches the mature stage. But this game IS mature - it’s (probably) past the peak of maximum players. Increasing the retention of NEW players is no longer they best way to continue growing revenue.

The last update was clearly focused on improving the new player experience, at the expense of what your mature, already-paying players want. You are trying to increase retention of NEW players, while watching your already-paying players leave.

You are doing it wrong.

Compared to brand-new clones of this game that are out there, no matter what updates you make to the new player experience, you won’t be able to compete. They are using newer technology, better graphics, and learning from the mistakes that you have made along he way. Its not fair, sure, but that is the way it is. Trying to compete for new players with those clones won’t grow your revenues, because you are doing it at the expense of what your mature players actually want in the game. When they leave, they leave with their pocketbooks. What you have is a loyal player base who love Star Wars. Work with them!

For the love of this game, please rethink the focus on improving the new player experience at the expense of your mature player base. Instead, perhaps listen a bit more to your existing players.

Think about what happened to Star Wars: Galaxies, for example, with the unasked-for Combat Upgrade, and, even worse, the New Game Experience. It didn’t end well. (just as one example of a game with an eerily similar name)

Shall we start by fixing, oh …. I don’t know …. SHIPS?!?