Stuck in a mature arena shard

I started playing SWGoH shortly after launch, entered the arena, then took a break for a bit. Within the last few years I have been working my way up in the arena however I find that most of the opponents around me have years of progression on me. It's been a long road but I have made slow progress at climbing but it definitely had a negative effect on my experience as a newer player.

Is the arena ranking system something that is on the radar of the devs? I feel like the competition you face should be based on your relative power and skill rather than the age of your account. GAC was a step in this direction, as matchmaking is based around your account GP, but I feel like the standard fleet and squad arenas could benefit from a similar approach. This would benefit players who maybe didn't commit to arena immediately as they would be able to compete and still reliably farm arena currency required for many characters considered critical for progression.

Replies

• Calcine wrote: »
    I started playing SWGoH shortly after launch, entered the arena, then took a break for a bit. Within the last few years I have been working my way up in the arena however I find that most of the opponents around me have years of progression on me. It's been a long road but I have made slow progress at climbing but it definitely had a negative effect on my experience as a newer player.

Is the arena ranking system something that is on the radar of the devs? I feel like the competition you face should be based on your relative power and skill rather than the age of your account. GAC was a step in this direction, as matchmaking is based around your account GP, but I feel like the standard fleet and squad arenas could benefit from a similar approach. This would benefit players who maybe didn't commit to arena immediately as they would be able to compete and still reliably farm arena currency required for many characters considered critical for progression.