So I just bought the year-end bundle.

Replies

  • Options
    Pravus wrote: »
    Nicks075 wrote: »
    Yeah that's me, are you the one with qui-gon as your leader by chance?

    Nope, one of the Phasma teams. Generally a top 5 finisher, but it's getting tougher lately.

    Nice. Good to see another server player. It certainly seems people are getting much better at snipping anyway.
    Look, good against pvp is one thing, good against the living, that’s something else.
  • Algernon
    3 posts Member
    edited December 2015
    Options
    Kyuu2 wrote: »
    EA_Jesse wrote: »
    Hey Everyone,

    Just wanted to let you all know that this was a temporary glitch for that lower price. If you managed to get the pack for the cheaper price well.....enjoy, it won't be taken away.

    -Jesse

    Hi Jesse, no offense intended but how on earth is it a glitch when on the playstore itself it says:

    "LIMITED-TIME OFFER: Upgrade your Snow Trooper, Royal Guard, Ewok Scout, and more when you get the Google Play Year End Deal bundle for 80% off!"

    That means someone needed to put that text there.. intentionally..

    I just went to buy it because it says it's $3.60, and didn't realize the google play notification say otherwise when I bought it. I sent an email to EA from the receipt email demanding a refund, because that can't be legal... To advertise the pack as one price and then sell it for 5x that much... right?

    Edit: Make sure you screenshot the in-game ad/price, guys. Since it appears to vanish after purchasing.
  • Skye
    795 posts Member
    Options
    Jesse said the lower price was a glitch :\

    Funny way of rewording "experiment"... yeah I'm cynical like that when it comes to money
    Former crazy person of the guild "Shard Awakens"... *quit game 13th July 2016*

    Game used to be fun when it wasn't a grind... if I wanted a grind I would have went and played old school Everquest or some Korean MMO!
  • Options
    Algernon wrote: »
    I just went to buy it because it says it's $3.60, and didn't realize the google play notification say otherwise when I bought it. I sent an email to EA from the receipt email demanding a refund, because that can't be legal... To advertise the pack as one price and then sell it for 5x that much... right?
    That's what I meant by "bait and switch". It's a sneaky sales tactic where they use a lower advertised price to bait you into the purchase, then switch the price out for a higher one at the last moment hoping you won't notice. It works quite well because people often don't notice when they think they are getting a good deal, but it does violate their ToS for Apple and Google App stores as well as federal law and is actually grounds for their game to be removed.
  • Options
    yZVFg2H.jpg
    "There is no 'try'." - Master Yoda
  • Qeltar
    4326 posts Member
    Options
    It's not a "bait and switch", it's a screwup. They appear to be trying to make it available for 80% off to entice new players, and made a mistake somewhere.
    Quit 7/14/16. Best of luck to all of you.
  • Options
    Very very disappointed in CG. This is just an unreal mess.
  • Options
    Qeltar wrote: »
    It's not a "bait and switch", it's a screwup. They appear to be trying to make it available for 80% off to entice new players, and made a mistake somewhere.

    They can say that, but the mere fact that they offered it with a description of being 80% off, only to later say that the $3.60 displayed price was yet another of their many "display bugs", offers a different perspective.
  • Options
    This does appear to be a Google Play promotion for new players.
  • Options
    At least I'm not the only one. It's possible this is a Google Play bug, but as a developer of another game, I can tell you I've never seen it.
  • Options
    I'd advise anyone that bought it for $20 to screenshot jessies post about it being a mistake in case they give you a hard time with refunding your money.
    Look, good against pvp is one thing, good against the living, that’s something else.
  • Options
    From what I can discern, this was meant to be a Google Play Store promotion for new players.
  • Qeltar
    4326 posts Member
    edited December 2015
    Options
    They can say that, but the mere fact that they offered it with a description of being 80% off, only to later say that the $3.60 displayed price was yet another of their many "display bugs", offers a different perspective.

    The 80% off thing reads:
    LIMITED-TIME OFFER: Upgrade your Snow Trooper, Royal Guard, Ewok Scout, and more when you get the Google Play Year End Deal bundle for 80% off! Play today for a free Captain Phasma and Resistance Trooper inspired by Star Wars™: The Force Awakens™ – claim in the store after completing the tutorial.
    "After completing the tutorial" says to me it's intended for new players.
    Again, why they would think veteran players would want to pay $18 for this is beyond me.
    Using it to entice new players for 80% is smart. Offering it cheap for veteran players is also smart, because many of us would buy it even though we don't need it, just because $3.60 is basically pocket change. At $18, it's overpriced.
    Quit 7/14/16. Best of luck to all of you.
  • Telaan
    3454 posts Member
    edited December 2015
    Options
    EA_Jesse wrote: »
    Hey Everyone,

    Just wanted to let you all know that this was a temporary glitch for that lower price. If you managed to get the pack for the cheaper price well.....enjoy, it won't be taken away.

    -Jesse

    @EA_Jesse

    Lol...."glitch"......yea sure.....

    I didn't buy it as I didn't even have it available as an iOS user (nor would I have bought it at that outrageous price). The fact that you offer different packages and deals to different operating systems is in itself is a serious problem. But, between this latest "glitch", the pricing model, and general handling of the game I have zero faith in its future. As such I will not be purchasing anything further without some sign things have changed.
    Post edited by Telaan on
  • Options
    It still says 3.60 in game then tries to charge 19.99 in Google play, if the sale price was a glitch they'd better change it in game NOW. It's a crime in California to add one price and sell at another like this. Ready to quit. Certainly guaranteed I'll never ever buy a package from this game if it's not honored.
  • Options
    Mine was at around 4.50$ CAD.. Confirmed I paid what was posted.
  • Options
    Qeltar wrote: »
    They can say that, but the mere fact that they offered it with a description of being 80% off, only to later say that the $3.60 displayed price was yet another of their many "display bugs", offers a different perspective.

    The 80% off thing reads:
    LIMITED-TIME OFFER: Upgrade your Snow Trooper, Royal Guard, Ewok Scout, and more when you get the Google Play Year End Deal bundle for 80% off! Play today for a free Captain Phasma and Resistance Trooper inspired by Star Wars™: The Force Awakens™ – claim in the store after completing the tutorial.
    "After completing the tutorial" says to me it's intended for new players.
    Again, why they would think veteran players would want to pay $18 for this is beyond me.
    Using it to entice new players for 80% is smart. Offering it cheap for veteran players is also smart, because many of us would buy it even though we don't need it, just because $3.60 is basically pocket change. At $18, it's overpriced.

    Hi Qeltar,

    Actually,
    LIMITED-TIME OFFER: Upgrade your Snow Trooper, Royal Guard, Ewok Scout, and more when you get the Google Play Year End Deal bundle for 80% off!

    Play today for a free Captain Phasma and Resistance Trooper inspired by Star Wars™: The Force Awakens™ – claim in the store after completing the tutorial.

    They are separate lines, the bottom one about tutorial was there and they recently added in that limited time offer thing. They are independent specials. It's clear to me that the limited time offer was for everyone.
  • Options
    already got refunded no screenshot required. I suspect more because, GASP, for the first time I got a response from EA and it was......wait for it.......call google. say what? your price change/glitch if you will is googles responsibility? they couldn't even refund me the difference between what I paid and what others paid they just straight up refunded the whole charge. I only feel bad because it comes out of googles pockets and not EA's.

    If they can have a "glitch" on something so simple as this I think we are in store for a SERIOUSLY bumpy ride until they get their **** together. @EA_jesse this is not directed at you but I got a saying I just absolutely love, there's a loose nut behind the wheel and i'm not referring to the kind that requires a wrench :)

    on the plus side fro EA I will simply put the money back into the game but I refuse to buy Chromium packs until I am no longer hearing about people loosing out on duplicate shard pulls, and i'm referring to them actually checking shard count before and after sale NOT the "display" glitch.

    le sigh.
  • Telaan
    3454 posts Member
    Options
    Awesome screenshot. If it was an in game toon it would be 7*.
  • Qeltar
    4326 posts Member
    Options
    You could be right. I don't know.
    I do know that I don't like accusing people of dishonest behavior unless I am 100% certain that it is true. They've said it's a mistake, and I don't see what EA would have to gain here by doing this on purpose - it makes them look bad, and this would be a pretty cut-and-dried case for a refund (price different in-game and in-store). So I believe it is a mistake.
    Quit 7/14/16. Best of luck to all of you.
  • Options
    Lokai wrote: »
    already got refunded no screenshot required.

    How long ago did you send in the complaint? I don't want to be stuck waiting around forever for an answer.

  • Options
    I put in a request and they called me 10 minutes or so later. it'll take while for the money to hit my google play but its in the works.

  • Options
    It still comes up as $5.59 (Aussie dollars) but the price on clicking it is $29. I thought EA might've come to their senses but no. I would've bought it at the lower price too but now way at the higher price. Interesting EA're happy to let all these sales go for the off chance some gullible fool will pay $29 for it. I'd imagine no one will be buying that

    And FYI, the Kylo Ren pack in Australia was $160. That's the price of two full new PS4 games, plus a coffee, bus ride home and an issue of Hustler. I know this is a freemium game, but as far as freemium games go, the prices charged for the character packs are absolutely disgusting. Even half that price is way too much imo
  • Options
    ah guess that's why I was seeing different "low" prices, hadn't considered the currencies. sad thing is some people ACTUALLY got it at those lower prices......so at first it cost what it said then it cost/displayed as less and now it displays as costing less and costing more? how do people make glitches like this? I seriously need to get a programming degree I suspect after some training I could do at least as good as that, probably better.

    but to be honest i'm less concerned with the "glitches" as I am the complete lack of customer service. Either they just close your tickets with no communication or they heft you off on to google play.....
  • Daeghaa
    95 posts Member
    edited December 2015
    Options
    It just shows 19.99 for me despite the game saying 3.85

    That is happening to me also, but in my currency. Very odd and disappointing.
  • Options
    Well even as a new player (I just started a new account aside from my main one) the price is still 17.99...
  • Options
    Am I the only one a but bothered that the iffer different things on iOS and Google Play? Each one is platform for the same game. Should I swtich to android because Android users are demand mire value? Are iOS users easier to milk as average higher income?

    I wish they can iffer the same fair orice for things in Android and iOS alike, and that the primary reason be transparency and fairness to all clients and players.
  • Options
    The lack of professionalism SWGoH is being run with is pretty astounding. I've never seen a game in this genre that offers significant advantages based on the user's platform. I would have gladly paid the $17 for that pack...
  • Skye
    795 posts Member
    Options
    Mnemoth42 wrote: »
    It still says 3.60 in game then tries to charge 19.99 in Google play, if the sale price was a glitch they'd better change it in game NOW. It's a crime in California to add one price and sell at another like this. Ready to quit. Certainly guaranteed I'll never ever buy a package from this game if it's not honored.

    It's an offense in most countries... In the EU you'll be fined very heavily for false/misleading advertising... I'm already filing a complaint with the local authorities here over it.
    Former crazy person of the guild "Shard Awakens"... *quit game 13th July 2016*

    Game used to be fun when it wasn't a grind... if I wanted a grind I would have went and played old school Everquest or some Korean MMO!
  • Options
    Mine is 17$...go figure
Sign In or Register to comment.