Professional Strategist's Guide to SWGOH - Short and Long Term Strategy

DermoRen
17 posts Member
edited February 2016
Strategy for SWGOH – Pay to Play Players (but Free to Play can probably gain insights, too)

Disclaimer: I’m a P2P player so the strategy might be different for F2P players. I'm regularly in the top 10-20 on my server with little focus on the Squad Arena battles. I have an MBA from a top B school and am a professional strategist in my real life. While I'm a P2P player, I believe the phasing would be the same. The game continues to evolve so it is impossible to know how changes will impact strategy. I recommend using other sites for shard farming locations. After reading this guide, go to swgohcantina website for the character rankings and farming locations. I don't agree with all the player rankings but it is a good baseline to consider. So this strategy guide is focused more on economics of how you spend your resources and time. First, though, I believe you should begin with the end in mind – i.e. an intermediate end-state.

Intermediate End-State: Squad of 7-Star Characters, fully geared up, at max XP level 70, that work well together. (Example: One endstate squad might to have maxed out Phasma, Kylo Ren, First Order Tie Pilot, Luminara Unduli and Darth Sidious). Also, it is helpful to have a bench of characters at 50-45 level that makes winning GW and Events & Challenges a breeze. Furthermore, this bench can be slowly groomed up for potential Arena competition. This combination can be put on auto-pilot for growing the base of characters and leveling them up. But that is not where you start out.

Concept: I recommend visualizing phases to game play over a few month time horizon. Phase 1: Build up, Phase 2: Grow Strong, Phase 3: Grow Deep, Phase 4: Form NextGen Squad, Phase 5: Acquire Newly Released Characters and Gear/Level Up.