Asked to resign leader role by officer (Need Advice)

So one of my officers contacted me in Discord, asking if I can resign as leader and hand over the role to him. I was shocked, I consider him the chief of staff and/or deputy to the guild. I don’t know how to respond to this, I understand his statement but it feels like a coup... because after I resign the role, he could demote to a regular member. I have the 3rd highest galactic power in the guild, top two are regular members.

History behind the guild and how I become leader: In the beggining, it was a leader and 4 officers, I was a officer. Over a few months, each officer left and I was the only remaining officer managing the guild with a leader who was afk for 100+ days. I eventually reported the leader to EA to be demoted, I became leader. I promoted the most active members. Our officers changed over time but the two remained and never left. I call them the Chief of Staff and Raid Commander. We recently promoted 3 new members to officers. So my chief of staff is basically asking me to step aside, I am active and manage the guild actively by kicking undesirables, starting other raids and such, I am not lacking in my duties so I am shocked. Thoughts???

Replies

• Do you consult with the other O's before kicking people?

Is it possible you offended someone?

Did he give you any reasons behind the request? If not, you should ask.
    The field of battle is like the mongoose. Slow to joviality, but thirsty for morning sunshine.
    -Sun Tzu
  • Ebbda
    261 posts Member
    Sounds a bit fishy to me.

If you do all the things you should do as a leader, then he must have some reason behind it. Has he expressed the reasons why he feels he should be leader? If his opinion doesn't match yours then there's a chance he may go rogue and ruin the guild within minutes.