What don't I understand about the fleet arena?

I'm relatively new to the fleet arena, only just reached Player Level 70.

A casual, slowly progressing player, at about 22000 squad power, my experience from the squad arena, is that, with some of exceptions (notably Phoenix squads or squads with Kylo Ren or Bobba Fett), I can usually count on at least being a match (even if not always winning) against a squad near my own squad power, even sometimes beat a squad maybe up to 500 above me.

In the fleet arena this is very different:
My fleet is alledgedly powered in the low 30K range, but quite often I will get all 4 ships (I still only have 1 reinforcement) wiped out barely making a scratch on ANY of the enemy ships - even when fighting nearly identical squads with only 1 ship different from mine, in the mid 20K range, and with ALL of their ships lower level than mine at same *tiers.

Now, I know you're gonna say synergy effects, but are they really THAT strong at his low level?

Or what am I missing?

Any hints or help appreciated

Replies

• Damodamo
    1574 posts Member
    edited March 2019
    Pilot gear and mods..
    Have you got a gg link for your roster, I’ll have a look for you
  • Mrtops
    80 posts Member
    What is your opponent running?
  • crzydroid
    7252 posts Moderator
    Power is not a good indicator at all, and even more so in fleet. For example, it counts capital ship crew contributions which may not directly affect the battle. You should really read "Galactic Power" (in both fleet AND squad) as "Resource Investment Score." It doesn't necessarily mean that the player made good investments.

Like someone said, if you can post a link to your profile with roster, people would be more than happy to give you pointers.
  • GP is not a good indicator with ship because you can have multiple pilot for a given ship...they will always be higher gp than a ship with fewer pilots.
  • Thanks, guys. So I guess the answer is "everything" :-D