What the heck is a datacron??

I’m also a 8 mil + player and have been around since a couple months after launch. With work and family life I’ve just now looked at what a “datacron” is. I still don’t know what they are. I asked my guild leader how these things work and he said there’s a bunch of data on the forums. So I told him that I’m not a coder or a computer engineer and if I have to do this much work to figure out how to play a game on my phone, I seriously need to reevaluate what I’m doing.

Replies

• AlexanderG
    1927 posts Member
    Grants temporary bonuses to a squad it's assigned to. For now it's GAC and TW.
  • Ultra
    11449 posts Moderator
    Gives stat boost to your entire team (like mods)
  • NicWester
    8928 posts Member
    I’m also a 8 mil + player and have been around since a couple months after launch. With work and family life I’ve just now looked at what a “datacron” is. I still don’t know what they are. I asked my guild leader how these things work and he said there’s a bunch of data on the forums. So I told him that I’m not a coder or a computer engineer and if I have to do this much work to figure out how to play a game on my phone, I seriously need to reevaluate what I’m doing.

Think of it as a mod for your entire squad with a minimum requirement of relic 3 to use.

It gives you up to 6 stat bumps, like a mod, and up to three special things. The first special thing gives a boost to anyone in the squad that has the same light/dark alignment of that special thing. The second special thing applies only to a specific faction. The third special thing applies only to one specific character and they must be relic 7 to get that effect. You can see which abilities and factions are available in the Datacron area in-game.

They use their own currency to level up, sort of like how ships and characters use different things so that working on one won’t slow you down on the other. These currencies are mostly gained from Conquest.