New Player Catching Up (Or Not)

Palanthian
1262 posts Member
I started playing the game around 6 weeks ago and am creeping up on level 60. I've made many mistakes during this time, spreading myself too thin, upgrading too many characters while I experimented with different teams.

Gearing up seems like the biggest stumbling block. Even buying energy refreshes up to the 400 crystal limit, the awful drop rate on the 20 item upgrades for purple gear are taking forever. Sometimes a 100 energy refresh gets me just 2 or 3 drops.

I've now realised that there are 11 or 12 gear levels. I've also noted that the level cap increases by 10 every 2 months, I expect level 90 will happen pretty soon.

I guess I'm working out that catching up to the top players is going to be impossible, the carrot is moving faster than I can keep up with. Even spending serious money, you can't generate enough energy to upgrade your gear fast enough due to the restrictive 400/800 crystal prices after a few refreshes.

Is this the sad reality, or am I just being too negative? Any tips for a disillusioned new player? How are new players supposed to catch up? Or, is this game just for people who played from day one?

Replies

• Options
    ... Just play every day or be a whale....
  • Options
    Welcome to the game and forum!

And be strong, you will truly need the gamer's Force to keep up.
    If you keep spending the way you do you will eventually catch up, especially when we start reaching level 80 and HOPEFULLY devs keep it at 80 for a while...
    As long as your enjoyment of the game outweights the guilt feeling of spending that amount of real resources on it I guess it will be worth it and you will enjoy playing...
    But yeah we've all been through the frustrations you are expressing here concerning the grinding for purple gears.
    Also yeah, you can bet the carrot keeps moving for us to spend chasing.