What am I doing wrong? (500-ish rank, stuck)

Hello all, new member here. Been playing since a little after Christmas and this is my first time ever playing a game like this. I only got it on my iPad since I grew up when SW came out (ya, I am old) and now my kids love the franchise with all the new characters and movies. To start off with I was clueless and mainly just going after characters me or my kids liked and didnt really care much about Arena rankings or things like that. Now I feel more competitive and have started reading up on things but I still think I am messing something up. I see all these posts or even vids of guys who seem like their teams are similar but ranked WAY higher!

That being said, am totally F2P and I am currently ranked around 450-550.

Here is my character lineup that I can pick from in order of power:
All of these guys are Level 61. I am at Lvl 64 game-wise
Sid - 6*, Gear VII
Lumi - 5*, VII
Poggle - 5*, VI
JC - 4*, VII
Dooku - 4*, VII
Daka - 4*, VII
Phasma - 4*, VII
GS - 3*, VII
Poe - 3*, VII
These two are Lvl 59
IG88 - 4*, VI
IG86 - 5*, VI

I feel like out of 10 solid characters I should be able to rank better than the 500's! My issue is that if I use my 5 shots at Arena I can get up to around 450. The problem is the next morning I am knocked back down to the 600's so I need to battle back up.

I freely admit I have a ton of other characters that I have wasted time and energy on but my kids love them so they stick around. People like Chewy, Han, Opress, Jawa, and I just got Luke started. I also have some decent hitters like RP and FOTP but both have no health but I can farm RP if needed.