GAC Rewards & role in the game loop

Hey Folks,

This is my first post here and I'd like to say I am a huge fan of this game. Being a game developer myself I totally admire the depth and variety of system & character design and, of course, I love Star Wars :)
Having said that, I do not fully understand the current policy for GAC rewards.
GAC seems to me as an ultimate game mode currently, the final goal and challenge for my collection. It's core design is awesome, requires planning, strategic thinking on various levels, perfect battle execution. With the overall game design clearly targeting multi-team diverse collection development, GAC seems to be the reason I play all the other modes - I use them to build my collection and then use it in GAC. Of course I am simplyfying a little bit, but I hope you get my point.

Then, GAC takes a month to complete - which also is cool as you're building the tension over the 4 GAC tournaments, players climb higher and higher, get better rewards etc. The last weekly tournament - especially if you're doing well - feels like a great finale and can render really strong emotions.

However, I do not understand the policy behind the rewards we are getting for GAC, which are, to put it mildly, discouraging.

First of, the game does not encourage me to get to higher divisions. Quite the opposite, I'd rather restrain from building my total GP to stay as long as possible where I am. I do not see any real difference in rewards between higher divisions and the one I am currently in (4th). This works against the other game modes - especially TB - which I find odd (but perhaps I am missing something?). Even with a new matchmaking algorithm the feeling does not change much. Why should I want to go to higher divisions?