Hyper Drive for a new player, helpful or fun killer?

I just started playing about 3 weeks ago and I am enjoying the game, I have bought a couple minor packs like the Vadar,Sidious and a couple of the starter packs as I am having fun and well really wanted Vadar, was thinking of maybe getting other packs like those when they came along just to get a character here or there but not really into getting the random packs with shards or things like that, so not a whale but don't mind spending money on the game.

I enjoy playing games lvling my characters and learning how to use them, not the hey can you boost me, carry, give me stuff, or P2W my way to the top type as I played many mmo's and never seen the fun in that and played with those people who you could spot verse people who leveled their characters as they would not know what they were doing and end up getting your team killed because of it.

Thing I am running into though even this early is I am running out of materials just to keep my main team and teams needed to progress in skills, mods, gear, let alone get or test out teams I might want to try just for fun and enjoyment rather then just for grinding and progression. Finding a guild to do the starter raids and learn them is a nightmare as they mostly aren't there or you get the hey join us we will carry you and once you hit max lvl ( when the game really begins) you can start doing stuff with us, which is basically making content unavailable to me as theirs the content I can't do for lack of characters, characters * and gear lvl that I need to progress to do naturally as its years of content and content I could do but can't because most of the player base is far beyond this stage of the game.