Better strategy for developing toons?

I've been playing for 5 years and as a free to play gamer on a tight budget and know all too well the difficulty of powering up toons quickly. For the longest time my approach has been investing in 7 starring toons first since most development can't be completed until then and many events require them at that level. After that I focus on gear and then relics. Mods don't really get too much attention beyond using whatever the game thinks is best and slicing them if necessary. However I want to try a new approach on how I develop my toons from now on. Mods are not my strong suit so my thoughts have been to possibly research best mod sets first so I could get some use out of low level toons. My usual crystal income daily is roughly 200 and I tend to save them for shard purchases or gear when I'm very close to finishing a toon so I'm not too concerned about daily refreshes. I'm just looking for the most cost effective way to get use out of low level toons during development.

Replies

• scuba
    14069 posts Member
    edited November 2023
    Options
    SWGoH.gg has best mods for the units based on player base use.

Example
    https://swgoh.gg/characters/admiral-piett/best-mods/
  • Options
    Most of the biggest benefits from modding comes from percent bonuses, which only get really good when the character is in relic levels.

Under geared characters benefit much more from mods with flat (whole number, not percentage) stat bonuses, but spending a lot of your mod resources on those sorts of mods will not pay off in the long run. Once the character is fully developed, you should to swap to percent bonuses anyway.

There are not many characters (though there are a few) that can get really useful while under geared, even with the best mods you could fit to them (can't fit a 6 dot under g12, can't g12 under 7 stars, barely any benefit from the percent boosts of 6 dot anyway).