Semi-new here. Can someone explain a few things to me?

Hello there.

I'm kind of new to this game compared to others. I've only been playing since November, and I am glad I stumbled across this forum through the game because I have some questions that so far I have not had luck finding the answers to.

1. From time to time I get "Friend Requests". I currently have two pending. What are they exactly? From what I gather they can use my characters or something like that? Introverted me says to follow my social media instinct and not accept requests from complete strangers. Clarification on this would be most appreciated.
2. Lurking on the forum, I have seen terminology that I do not know what it means or understand it. What is "PVP", "Farming", and "Toons"?
3. Currently I am at Level 57, playing solo without being in a guild, with a total of 27 characters (12 light side, 15 dark side). For the most part I have been 'winging it' with squads. Any thoughts, opinions, or recommendations on improving any of my teams would be very helpful. I can provide a full breakdown of every character I have with their levels, gear levels, and star ratings. I can write it up, though I have seen some people here provide web links that show it, Anyone know where to find that?

These are my current teams.

- Ahsoka Tano, Barriss Offee, Jedi Consular, Rex, and Fives is my current light side squad.
- Asajj Ventress, Nightsister Initiate, Talia, IG-86 Sentinel Droid, and IG-88 as my current dark side squad.
- Ahsoka Tano, Barriss Offee, Asajj Ventress, Jedi Consular, and Talia as my current cantina squad.
- For Arena Battle's, I have been using my top five most powerful characters at any given moment. They are currently Asajj Ventress, IG-86 Sentinel Droid, Barriss Offee, Jedi Consular, and IG-88.
- I have also unlocked some ships, though I have not unlocked any battles that I can use them in.