New Player, Have Some Questions About Best F2P Characters and Need Allies

Prev1
Howdy all,

I just started playing this game about a week ago. I didn't take it very seriously at first and was just messing around, so I wasted a lot of time and resources on useless characters. So yesterday I finally started looking at some guides and videos for tips on the best characters to level.

Some of those recommendations may be out of date though, so I could use your advice on whether to follow those guides or not (as well as get a second opinion). Note that I'm completely F2P. I'm looking for characters that will never become useless and are not a waste of resource/time investment, as some guide lists have proclaimed their recommendations to be. Also, while I've already went around to every thread I could find looking for ally codes, I could still use some more, partly to get the 25 allies achievement, and partly because I could use more quality heroes to borrow. If you have strong characters I can borrow (and are not already on my allies list) please post your code here or just add me in game, my code is: 342-639-299. Note that every 5 weeks or so, I go inactive for 5-10 days. Next trip is next Thursday and leaving my phone behind.

Currently I'm Level 41 and have mostly my F2P characters. So first, after reviewing the video guides, the characters I currently have that I've tentatively decided are worth leveling up are:
Kylo Ren
Ahsoka Tano
Royal Guard

Kylo seems like a very solid character and I'm investing heavily in him.

Ahsoka was recommended by some but not others but she's IMO the best character I have that I actually farmed for so far so I will invest some in her unless someone tells me otherwise.

Royal Guard was recommended and I like him but unless I hear confirmation I'm not sure on investing in him, at least as a priority.