Getting the Most Bang For Your Buck (or, How I Learned to Avoid Chromium Packs Like the Plague)

I really do enjoy this game, but I think that one place where the app falls is in showcasing the expected returns on money spent. I'll walk you through my experiences to demonstrate what I mean.

The first day I started playing, I bought the Dooku bundle for $5. He was amazing -- way better than anyone else I had unlocked at that point -- and I was happy to have spent my $5 on him.

That purchase went so well, in fact, that I wanted to support the game further by buying the $25 droid bundle. Again, I was happy with the performance of these new characters. I understood their synergy and I understood how to star them up. Up to this point, I had no complaints with how purchases work with the game.

But then I decided to try out the Chromium boosters. I spent $20 for the crystals necessary for an 8-pack, and cracked 'em open. That was a mistake. I got little of value, but I figured that was just bad luck. Another $20, another attempt, another round of what was essentially garbage. Against my better judgement I tried a third time, same results. It was very demoralizing.

I did unlock a handful of characters, but they unlocked at 2 stars with no way to raise them, and even then I knew they'd be a waste of time to level up without the possibility of increasing their stars as well.