What $ amount makes a whale?

2Next

Replies

• Options
    I have spent $250 since I started playing in mid-December($100 for Kylo bundle, which came with Poe and $50 worth of crystals. $50 for nightsister bundle with Barris, Ventress, etc. and $100 crystal bundle)
    I will probably buy another $100 crystal bundle soon. I don't do the chromium card lottery. My experience so far has been good to me, as I don't get thrown back further than #15 at any point in the day and love burrowing my way back into the top 5 by 6 p.m. I have placed #1 and 2 a few times each and enjoy getting some of my "investment" back in the form of crystals. A few of us like to toss the resident "killer whale" around. From the looks of it, he/she has spent hundreds if not low thousands for his Leia, FOTP, and Qui-Gon. I have written this for those of you who are interested in what is going on with other leaderboards.
  • Options
    Qeltar wrote: »
    I think what's amazing is how game makers have over time raised costs so high -- and gotten so good with the gambling / psychological manipulation -- that the amount for what's considered a "whale" has dramatically increased. I read an article from a couple of years back that defined a "whale" as anyone who spent more than $30 on a game. Around here anyone who has spent only $30 since launch is considered "near-F2P".

Oh the days when a simple video game would be $50, maybe $30 for a hand held device.

Remember when games went up to $60, and the SHTF.

Now, with all this micro-transaction stuff (which I hate and wish didn't exist) I would gladly pay $60 for a full, unlocked game... for any system/device.
  • Vampire_X
    1435 posts Moderator
    Options
    AAA game provides more quality , content is game time and mobile games due to the nature of casual gaming have more replay value i.e. Default content than a aaa title could

Also ease of access makes mobile have value