Grand Arena Megathread

Replies

• Elyk
    22 posts Member
    edited December 2018
    DarkISI wrote: »
    Elyk wrote: »
    Now that I know how to look, (thanks guys!) they did scary good matching my opponent, both at 1.7mil and some change with a whopping 11 GP differential.

GP says nothing ...
    My opponent can't even make a scratch in my Revan (whom I put on defense). What's the point in that?

Thats kind of where Im at too. Im going to completely rock this guy. And you're right, GP is....deceiving. Mostly because of the sheer volume of characters/ships, multi-tiered gear, levels etc., etc. And everyone clamors about making the matchmaking more fair or more accurate but Im not really sure how that could be more accurately assessed other than by GP. Im not a coder and know very little about the skill but Im not sure how difficult it would be to create an algorithm, assign values to things like total zetas, each tier of gear on characters, etc. Would love someone to pitch an alternative or addition to GP though.
  • Joker41NAM wrote: »
    Yet another time-sink, in a game that already requires way too much time.

I mean the Grand Arena unlocks at level 85 so if you aren't okay with putting lots of time into this game at this point, why are you still playing?
  • It looks like the matchmaking is decent from what I can tell. Assuming the search i did on swgoh.gg is accurate, I'm matched against a player with about 6k gp more than me. When you remove ship gp (which doesn't matter since you can't set ships) they have a 25k advantage. But I have more g12 characters. But if you look at the total number of g11/g12 as a group it's pretty close. Then g10, g9, and g8 are all pretty close. They have 19 zetas and I have 26. So overall looks to be a pretty even match.