Let's talk New Player Experience

Replies

• Options
    I have been playing this game for maybe 4-6 months (I think more towards 6?) The only big problem I'm having right now is that I'm frantically trying to farm hera (After farming a bunch of other characters from cantina) And I am severely lacking in mods. I know I can take a break from farming characters to get mods but with thrawn probably around the corner i can't waste the time. Besides that this game seems sort of friendly to new players. And I mean I could just avoid the legendary events if I wasn't so got to catch them all!
  • Options
    Liath wrote: »
    Saraleb wrote: »
    But agree 100% to start a new account now you have no chance to compete.. such an amazing divide between long term players and newbies simply cause of the requirements to get the OP toons..

Compete with whom though? Why do you think that you should immediately be able to compete with long term players or have everything they have, and in what game modes are you actually worried about competing with them anyway? Arenas are divided by start date, so you don't see those older players, and those are the only modes in which you are directly competing with anybody.

TBH, I don't really see how it's any harder to be a new player now than it was before. And, new players immediately benefit from QoL upgrades that long term players had to suffer without, such as having challenges give the lower gear at higher levels (no more choosing between carbantis and keypads or syringes and droid callers), more low cost refreshes, 5 hard node attemps, guaranteed mod drops, etc.

Agree 100% - you are paired with similar aged players and new players now are significantly better off than players that started at hard launch in Nov 2015.
  • Options
    Good post. Well thought out. I agree with pretty much all your points OP.
  • Options